PRO14 rugby

All change for 1872 Cup competition

Henry Pyrgos and Jonny GrayGlasgow Warriors’ Henry Pyrgos and Jonny Gray with the 1872 Cup after last year’s win over Edinburgh Rugby (pic: SNS Group).

Scottish rugby fans are in for a treat with the 1872 Cup to be contested on a new ‘best-of-three’ basis.

Previously the trophy was awarded to the aggregate winner of the two league matches between Edinburgh and Glasgow Warriors, however with the expansion of the Guinness PRO14 to include South African sides Southern Kings and Toyota Cheetahs, the Scottish sides now meet three times in a season instead of two.

Edinburgh host the first match between the pair at BT Murrayfield this Saturday (5.10pm) and the sides will meet again at Glasgow’s Scotstoun home a week later (Saturday 30 December, kick-off 3.15pm), with a third, potentially decisive derby held at the home of Scottish rugby on the last weekend of the regular season at the end of April.

Edinburgh Rugby managing director Jonny Petrie, said: “We’re on target for a record crowd at BT Murrayfield this Saturday so it’s fantastic to be able to confirm the future format of the 1872 Cup.

“The change is in keeping with the traditional test match rugby series made famous by touring test teams such as the British & Irish Lions.”

The derbies attract the biggest rugby audiences in Scotland outside of national team Test matches and will see many of the stars who lit up the recent Autumn Test campaign go head-to-head with their club sides.

Nathan Bombrys, Glasgow Warriors managing director, added: “To win the trophy, you’ve got to win the most games across the series.

“With the addition of a huge match to end the regular season at BT Murrayfield, winning the 1872 Cup will become an even greater challenge.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.