Main Menu

New Zealand favourites to lift trophy

Rugby World Cup: guide to games and betting

Rugby World Cup 2The Rugby World Cup begins today with 20 teams competing in 48 matches over a marathon six weeks for the Webb Ellis Trophy. England’s opener against Fiji at Twickenham kicks off at 8pm.

World Rugby say 500,000 fans will travel to England and Wales, adding more than £1 billion in revenue. Matches and the opening ceremony are live on ITV and ITV4.

Here’s a guide to the games and the betting odds:


Group A: Australia, England, Wales, Fiji, Uruguay

18 September: England v Fiji. 20 September: Wales v Uruguay. 23 September:Australia v Fiji. 26 September: England v Wales. 27 September: Australia v Uruguay. 1 October: Wales v Fiji. 3 October: England v Australia. 6 October: Fiji v Uruguay. 10 October: Australia v Wales, England v Uruguay.

Group B: Scotland, South Africa, Samoa, Japan, USA

19 September: South Africa v Japan. 20 September: Samoa v USA. 23 September: Scotland v Japan. 26 September: South Africa v Samoa. 27 September: Scotland v USA. 3 October: Samoa v Japan, South Africa v Scotland.7 October: South Africa v USA. 10 October: Samoa v Scotland. 11 October: USA v Japan.

Group C: New Zealand, Argentina, Tonga, Georgia, Namibia

19 September: Tonga v Georgia. 20 September: New Zealand v Argentina. 24 September: New Zealand v Namibia. 25 September: Argentina v Georgia. 29 September: Tonga v Namibia. 2 October: New Zealand v Georgia. 4 October:Argentina v Tonga. 7 October: Namibia v Georgia. 9 October: New Zealand v Tonga. 11 October: Argentina v Namibia.

Group D: France, Ireland, Italy, Canada, Romania

19 September: Ireland v Canada, France v Italy. 23 September: France v Romania. 26 September: Italy v Canada. 27 September: Ireland v Romania. 1 October: France v Canada. 4 October: Ireland v Italy. 6 October: Canada v Romania. 10 October: Italy v Romania. 11 October: France v Ireland.

Quarter-finals: 17 October: Quarter Final 1: Winner of Group B v Runners-up of Group A. Quarter Final 2: Winner of Group C v Runners-up of Group D. Quarter Final 3: Winner of Group D v Runners-up of Group C. Quarter Final 4: Winner of Group A v Runners-up of Group B.

Semi-finals: 24 October: Winner of Quarter Final 1 v Winner of Quarter Final 2. 25 October: Winner of Quarter Final 3 v Winner of Quarter Final 4.

Bronze final: 30 October

Final: 31 October.

Betting odds (William Hill):

Winners: New Zealand 6/5, England 9/2, South Africa 13/2, Australia 7/1, Ireland 9/1, France 14/1, Wales 20/1, Argentina 50/1.

Top try scorer: Julian Savea 5/1, Nehe Milner-Skudder 7/1, Bryan Habana 11/1, Waisake Naholo 12/1, Ben Smith 12/1, Israel Folau 16/1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.