Scottish Legal Awards

Top legal talent honoured in Edinburgh

Legal Awards 2

Top legal talent in Scotland was recognised at the 12th Scottish Legal Awards in Edinburgh.

Personal injury specialists, Digby Brown collected five awards including the ultimate prize Law Firm of the Year after a year of business which included launching a new office in Aberdeen and a noting a sizeable increase in business.

The firm’s chief executive and partner, Fraser Oliver, also collected the award for Managing Partner of the Year only 18 months after taking on the new position.   Other awards were presented to the same firm for Litigation Team of the Year, Employer of the Year and Community Contribution.

Douglas Connell, the founding partner of Turcan Connell, was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award as he celebrates 40 years of practice since being made partner at Dundas & Wilson at the age of 24.  In a tribute to the Edinburgh-based lawyer who is also chair of the National Galleries of Scotland, the judges commended Mr Connell on a formidable career carving and building a highly regarded law firm.

Chair of the judging panel, Lorna Jack, said: “We have heard about the positive effects on business experienced by winning firms or individuals which link their award directly to business wins, career growth and improving team morale.   Congratulations to all our finalists and winners and we wish them every success in the coming year.”

Full list of winners and nominees:

Specialist Lawyer of the Year

John McGovern – DAC Beachcroft Scotland LLP

Robert Sheridan – Scullion LAW

Winner: Robert Sheridan Scullion LAW

Rising Star of the Year

Sara Jalicy – Anderson Strathern LLP

Elaine Cunningham – Brodies

Casey Thompson – DAC Beachcroft Scotland LLP

Mark Hastings – DAC Beachcroft Scotland LLP

Audrey Junner – Hill Brown Solicitors

Lisa Maguire – MacRoberts

Highly Commended: Lisa Maguire, MacRoberts

Winner: Sara Jalicy, Anderson Strathern LLP

Family Law Team of the Year

Family Law Matters Scotland LLP

Morton Fraser

MTM Specialist Family Lawyers

Simpson & Marwick

Winner:  Family Law Matters Scotland LLP

Highly Commended:  Morton Fraser

Employment Team of the Year

Allan McDougall Solicitors

Anderson Strathern LLP

Winner:  Anderson Strathern LLP

Community Contribution

Digby Brown LLP

MOV8 Real Estate

Scullion LAW

Winner: Digby Brown

Residential Property Team of the Year

Allan McDougall Solicitors

Anderson Strathern LLP


Maloco + associates

McEwan Fraser Legal

Simpson & Marwick

Winner:  Simpson & Marwick


Paralegal of the Year

Penny Law – DAC Beachcroft Scotland LLP

Hazel Rodden – DAC Beachcroft Scotland LLP

Kelie Cooper – MacPhee & Partners

Winner:  Kelie Cooper

Public Sector Law Team of the Year

Anderson Strathern LLP


Harper Macleod LLP

Simpson & Marwick

Winner:  Anderson Strathern

Litigation Team of the Year


Allan McDougall Solicitors

Anderson Strathern LLP

DAC Beachcroft Scotland LLP

Digby Brown LLP

DLA Piper Scotland


Simpson & Marwick

Thompsons Solicitors

Winner:  Digby Brown

Highly Commended:  ADLP and Thompsons Solicitors


Pro Bono Award

Faculty of Advocates

The Aberdeen Law Project

DLA Piper Scotland LLP

University of Strathclyde Law Clinic

Winner: DLA Piper Scotland LLP

Highly Commended:  University of Strathclyde Law Clinic

Employer of the Year

Digby Brown LLP

Harper Macleod LLP

MacPhee & Partners

MOV8 Real Estate


Winner:  Digby Brown

Highly Commended:  MacPhee & Partners

Training Provider of the Year

Royal Faculty of Procurators in Glasgow (RFPG), including the Trainee and Newly Qualified Society (TANQ)

Scottish Young Lawyers’ Association

Winner:  Royal Faculty of Procurators Glasgow including TANQ

Highly Commended: Scottish Young Lawyers’ Association


In House Legal Team of the Year

Winner:  Skyscanner

Support Team of the Year


Millar & Bryce

Moore Legal Technology

The Cashroom

Winner: Millar & Bryce

Managing Partner of the Year 

Winner:  Fraser Oliver, Chief Executive, Digby Brown

Lifetime Achievement Award 

Douglas Connell, Turcan Connell

Firm of the Year 

Digby Brown LLP

DLA Piper Scotland LLP

Simpson & Marwick

Thompsons Solicitors

Winner: Digby Brown



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.