2023 Ryder Cup in Italy

Lawrie misses out as Stenson lands Europe captaincy

Henrik Stenson

Honour: Henrik Stenson (pic: SNS Group)

Scotland’s Paul Lawrie has missed out on the European Ryder Cup captaincy for next year, with Henrik Stenson being handed the honour for the 2023 contest in Italy.

The Aberdonian, who has played in two Ryder Cups and was Darren Clarke’s vice-captain in 2016 at Hazeltine, was on a four-man shortlist to succeed Padraig Harrington after the record-breaking 19-9 loss at Whistling Straits, Wisconsin.

Next year’s contest will be played at the Marco Simone Golf and Country Club on the outskirts of Rome, with Stenson becoming the first Swede to captain Europe having been preferred to the 1999 Open champion, Englishman Luke Donald and Robert Karlsson.

The 45-year-old was selected by a five-man selection panel comprising of the three most recent captains – Harrington, Thomas Bjorn and Clarke – as well as chief executive of the European Tour group, Keith Pelley, and DP World Tour Committee chairman David Howell.

“I am absolutely thrilled and delighted to be the European Ryder Cup captain – it is a huge honour and I was humbled to get the call confirming the news,” said Stenson, who has won the Ryder Cup three times as a player.

“I would like to thank the selection panel for believing in me and will say to them, and every European golf fan, that I will do everything in my power and leave no stone unturned in the quest to get the Ryder Cup back in European hands.

“The Ryder Cup is golf, and sport, at its very best. I got goosebumps every time I pulled on a European shirt as a player and that will be magnified in the role of captain.

“While it is great for me personally, it is also great for my country and all the players from Sweden who have played for Europe with such distinction since Joakim Haeggman became the first in 1993.

“When I started out as a professional golfer, it was beyond my wildest dreams that, one day, I would follow in the footsteps of legends of the game such as Seve and be the European Ryder Cup captain. But today proves that, sometimes, dreams do come true.”

Europe have not lost a home Ryder Cup since the USA triumphed at The Belfry in 1993.

The USA will be captained by two-time major winner Zach Johnson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.