Travel setback

Tui cancels flights to holiday hotspots amid Covid alert

No-go: Sardinia is out of bounds until the autumn

Holiday travel firm Tui has cancelled flights to popular hotspot destinations amid continuing coronavirus alerts across Europe and beyond.

The company will offer no flights to parts of Italy – Sardinia, Sicily and Calabria – and to Almeria and Girona in Spain, as well Malta until at least 31 October.

Flights and packages for holidays to Austria, Slovenia, Bulgaria and Montenegro have also been cancelled until the autumn, along with cruises.

Beyond Europe, a number of other flights have been cancelled because of “ongoing uncertainty around travel”, some until 31 August and others until 4 September (see list below).

The changes affect customers who booked flights for the end of August through to October to these destinations.

Holidays to green and amber list destinations that are going ahead include the Balearics – Ibiza, Majorca and Menorca – and the Canaries – including Tenerife and Gran Canaria – and Malta with non-Tui flights.

Tui said: “We won’t take any customers to Red destinations or those which require quarantine on arrival, unless this can be foregone by a Covid test.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.