Shadow Cabinet

Smith takes up Tory challenge on economy

Douglas Ross has appointed Liz Smith to the finance and economy brief

Scottish Conservative leader Douglas Ross has announced a new Shadow Cabinet “ready to be a strong opposition and take the fight to the SNP from day one.”

Liz Smith has been handed the job of challenging Finance and Economy Secretary Kate Forbes, while Oliver Mundell returns to the front bench as Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills.

Stephen Kerr, a former MP, is chief whip and Mr Ross’s “reserve” at First Minister’s Questions.

Other key appointments include Mid Scotland and Fife MSP Murdo Fraser, who will shadow the deputy first minister John Swinney in his new Covid recovery role.

Donald Cameron, who was previously at health, has been moved opposite Angus Robertson, former SNP depute leader and one of the First Minister’s oldest allies, on the constitution, external affairs and culture.


The Scottish Tories were tipped to take a beating in May’s election but returned 31 MSPs – the same number as in 2016 – and gained 100,000 additional votes, the party’s best ever performance at Holyrood.

Mr Ross said: “Our new team of MSPs is determined to improve the lives of people all over the country by focusing 100% on Scotland’s recovery and tackling the health and economic crisis we face.

“Our Shadow Cabinet will work constructively with other parties to get things done but we are equally ready to be a strong opposition and take the fight to the SNP from day one. 

“They will drive forward at least 15 bills over the course of this parliamentary term as we start on the road to building Scotland’s real alternative to the SNP.”

The Scottish Conservative Shadow Cabinet and junior ministers:

Leader – Douglas Ross

Covid Recovery – Murdo Fraser

Finance and Economy – Liz Smith
Junior shadow ministers:
Public Finance, Planning and Community Wealth – Douglas Lumsden
Just Transition, Employment and Fair Work – Tess White
Business, Trade, Tourism and Enterprise – Jamie Halcro Johnston

Education and Skills – Oliver Mundell
Junior shadow ministers:
Children and Young People – Meghan Gallacher
Higher Education and Further Education, Youth Employment and Training – Pam Gosal

Health and Social Care – Annie Wells
Junior shadow ministers:
Public Health, Women’s Health and Sport – Sandesh Gulhane
Mental Health and Social Care – Craig Hoy
Drugs Policy – Sue Webber

Justice – Jamie Greene
Junior shadow minister:
Community Safety – Russell Findlay

Net Zero, Energy and Transport – Liam Kerr
Junior shadow ministers:
Transport – Graham Simpson
Environment, Biodiversity and Land Reform – Brian Whittle

Social Justice, Housing and Local Government – Miles Briggs
Junior shadow ministers:
Equalities and Older People – Alexander Stewart
Social Security and Local Government – Jeremy Balfour

Rural Affairs and Islands – Rachael Hamilton

Constitution, External Affairs and Culture – Donald Cameron
Junior shadow ministers:
Culture, Europe and International Development – Alexander Burnett

Chief Whip and FMQ reserve – Stephen Kerr
Deputy Chief Whip and shadow minister for veterans – Edward Mountain
Junior Whip – Tess White (who is also shadow minister for Just Transition, Employment and Fair Work)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.