Scottish Whisky Awards

128 whiskies compete for top honours

The finalists in the 2nd annual Scottish Whisky Awards have been announced with 128 whiskies progressing to the finals in the national competition.

The awards cover both taste and business performance and were judged by a highly experienced judging panel consisting of some of the world’s foremost experts in Scotch.

A total of 33 companies entered whiskies which were assessed by a 32-strong judging panel from the UK and mainland Europe. 

COVID restrictions prevented a judging day event so all judges participated in a series of blind tasting sessions, hosted, and moderated on Zoom by the international sensory management consultancy, Cara Technology.  The top three performers will be awarded Gold, Silver and Bronze medals in each of nine taste categories.

Three distilleries have been selected for the ultimate award of the competition, The Scottish Whisky Distillery of the Year. Glasgow Distillery, GlenAllachie Distillery and Glenmorangie Distillery have been selected following a rigorous judging process which combined performance in business categories and the marks from the blind tasting.

Chairman of the judging panel, Professor Alan Wolstenholme, commented; “We are very pleased to see increasing interest in our 2nd year of The Scottish Whisky Awards, a particularly challenging year for distilleries and events. 

“Fortunately, thanks to the efforts of the awards team, we have managed to stage a highly credible competition this year which allows us to present the all-important medals to the industry.  Congratulations to all our finalists and many thanks to all our judges from around the world for participating.”

The winners will be announced at the Scottish Whisky Awards live digital broadcast, a ticketed-only event which takes place on Thursday 19 November at 6.30pm.   The event will be staged using the latest event technology which creates a digital awards experience in which guests can network on virtual tables, watch live interviews, and celebrate the news of the winners. Tickets for the event are available HERE.

List of finalists HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.