Scottish Whisky Awards

GlenAllachie raises a glass on a night of whisky winners

Whisky winners celebrate (pic: contributed)

GlenAllachie Distillery was named distillery of the year in the inaugural Scottish Whisky Awards.

More than 400 guests gathered in Edinburgh to celebrate those judged best for taste and business performance.

GlenAllachie Distillery was recognised for an outstanding year of business and after winning five medals in the blind tasting competition. The distillery has served a full range of single malt into the market, opened a visitor centre and created a strong distribution network. 

Its awards haul included two gold medals for its 18 and 12 year old single malts.   Craigellachie, Glen Scotia, Highland Park and Loch Lomond Distilleries were also nominated in the category.

Angus-based Arbikie Distilling collected the award for the Newcomer of the Year and was applauded by the judging panel for its field to bottle ethos and innovative approach.  The company also collected a silver medal for Arbikie Highland Rye in the single grain category.

Other winners on the night included Johnnie Walker White Walker for its Game Of Thrones campaign whilst the Glasgow Distillery Company triumphed with multiple awards for their recently launched 1770 Single Malt.

Whisky awards

Professor Alan Wolstenholme, chairman of the Judging panel commented; “Very many congratulations to the winners in the inaugural Scottish Whisky Awards.  Winning a Scottish Whisky Award is a huge opportunity to further the promotion of Scotch whisky at home and abroad.

“I hope that all the medallists and winners take the opportunity to promote their success and achievements in what was a very tough competition.”

The awards were supported by commercial sponsors including Shawbrook Bank and Bruce Stevenson. 

Kevin Boyd, Managing Director at Shawbrook Bank commented: “Congratulations to all the finalists and winners in the inaugural Scottish Whisky Awards.  Shawbrook Bank are proud supporters of our whisky industry and we are delighted to support these awards and their work to promote the business of Scotch and all our wonderful whiskies at home and abroad.”

Graeme Dempster, Account Executive at Bruce Stevenson Insurance Brokers commented: “We’d like to congratulate all the finalists and winners at the Scottish Whisky Awards. The quality of talent up for nomination clearly demonstrates the strength of the Scotch Whisky industry today.  At Bruce Stevenson, we’re very proud to have a wide-ranging and deep involvement in such an exciting and growing sector.”

The awards also recognised one of the whisky industry’s most accomplished scientific and technical advisers with a special award presented posthumously to Dr Jim Swan. 

The award for outstanding contribution to Scotch whisky was accepted by Dr Swan’s daughters and was presented in recognition of his forty-year career as a research scientist and trusted adviser to whisky distilleries around the world.

The award will be presented annually as The Jim Swan Award for Services to Scotch Whisky to an individual making a significant contribution to the Scotch Whisky industry.

In the taste sessions, adjudicated by the international sensory management consultancy, Cara Technology, more than 100 whiskies were blind tasted and scored by a 32-strong judging panel from the UK, mainland Europe and Asia.

The awards which will now become an annual fixture and will be hosted in Glasgow next year, were also a fundraiser for two charities; The BEN, the Benevolent Society of the Licensed Trade of Scotland and the My Name’5 Doddie Foundation, set up by rugby legend Doddie Weir to help improve the lives of those affected by Motor Neurone Disease.

List of winners

This article appears under the terms of the DB Direct service

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.