Scottish Whisky Awards

New category for celebration of leading whiskies

Whisky awardsThe organisers of the national celebration for the business of Scotch have added a new category to the line-up as the programme progresses to the judging stages.

The Scottish Whisky Awards have added an ‘Excellence in Branding’ category which will be judged by a high-profile panel of experts from across the drinks industry.

The award will recognise the creation of a whisky brand which aims to make its mark in a competitive market. Judges will consider the use of the brand in the context of product, packaging, marketing and communication strategies.

The awards have recruited a highly regarded judging panel which comprises 35 experts from across the whisky business and related industries. They will assess written entries in seven categories covering a wide range of business including marketing, tourism destination, brand experience and community contribution. The tasting panel which includes some of the world’s authorities in whisky tasting will blind taste a range of samples in 10 categories at the end of May.

The programme has the support of several sponsors including Shawbrook Bank, Bruce Stevenson, Wolffe Design and Barr Printers.

Details of the new category can be viewed here.

The deadline for entries is Thursday 9 May and it’s easy to enter following these simple steps.


Register as a user in the My Account section
Go to Enter Now
Select your categories and fill in the form.
Process the registration fees and submit
For advice on the entry process or for support with your entries, please contact

For media or sponsorship enquiries please contact

The Scottish Whisky Awards takes place on Thursday 5 September 2019 at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in Edinburgh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.