Main Menu

Nations League

McLeish recalls four ahead of clash with Israel

Alex McLeish has recalled four players to his squad to face Israel and Portugal

Alex McLeish is looking to build on the win over Albania when Scotland travel to Israel in the Nations League (pic: SNS Group)


Scotland boss Alex McLeish has named his squad for the upcoming fixtures against Israel and Portugal, recalling four players to his pool.

Fresh from making a victorious start to their inaugural UEFA Nations League campaign, the Scots will be looking to make it two wins from two when they travel to Haifa on Thursday, 11th October.

McLeish’s men will then return home to face UEFA Euro 2016 champions Portugal three days later.

Steven Naismith is included as reward for a rich vein of form that saw him involved in both goals against Albania. The Hearts striker is now only three games away from his 50th cap for Scotland.

Jon McLaughlin returns to the squad after impressing on debut against Mexico on the 2018 summer tour, with the Sunderland goalkeeper competing with Craig Gordon and Allan McGregor as he looks to add to his cap tally.

Following impressive showings against Albania, Stephen O’Donnell and Scott McTominay are included in a squad which will once again be led by new captain Andy Robertson.

McLeish is also boosted by the return from injury of defensive pair Scott McKenna and Jack Hendry, along with Swansea striker McBurnie, strengthening the squad and increasing competition for places.

With a play-off place for UEFA Euro 2020 at stake, Scotland will be looking to consolidate their position at the top of their UEFA Nations League group as they look to qualify for a first tournament since 1998.

Squad: Goalkeepers – Allan McGregor (Rangers), Craig Gordon (Celtic), Jon McLaughlin Sunderland). Defenders – Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), John Souttar (Hearts), Kieran Tierney (Celtic), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen), Jack Hendry (Celtic), Stephen O’Donnell (Kilmarnock), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool). Midfielders – James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser, (Bournemouth), Kevin McDonald (Fulham), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Robert Snodgrass (West Ham United). Forwards – Steven Naismith (Hearts), Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City), Leigh Griffiths (Celtic), Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City).

TV deal

2 Oct: The SPFL has today announced a new broadcast deal with beIN SPORTS covering Australia, New Zealand and 24 countries in the Middle East and North Africa.

Following the termination of the SPFL’s previous overseas broadcast agreement on 13 August, the League’s new deal will run until June 2020.

SPFL Chief Executive Neil Doncaster said: “Work is continuing to ensure as many fans of Scottish football around the world are able to watch matches from the Ladbrokes Premiership, the Betfred Cup and the IRN-BRU Cup this season.”

Daniel Markham, Executive Director – Sports Content, beIN Sports, added: “This announcement follows several other major broadcast rights agreements that we have signed with Europe’s major football leagues in recent months, reaffirming our position as one of the world’s leading sports broadcasters.” 

beIN MEDIA GROUP’S sports network beIN SPORTS covers football, basketball (NBA and Euroleague), American football (NFL), cricket, rugby, tennis, cycling, volleyball, motor sports, college sports and others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.