Main Menu

PFA Scotland awards

Ross is surprise manager of the year

Jack Ross

St Mirren’s Jack Ross with his PFA Scotland Manager of the Year trophy (pic: SNS Group)

St Mirren’s Jack Ross upset the odds to be named PFA Scotland manager of the year.

The 41-year-old won the award ahead of Brendan Rodgers, Neil Lennon and Steve Clarke.

It was a night of celebration for the Paisley side with Lewis Morgan also winning the championship player of the year

“I’m surprised to win the award given the calibre of the other nominees and what they’ve achieved,” said Ross.

“First and foremost I was just delighted to be nominated in that company, but to receive the award is a tremendous honour, particularly when it’s voted on by managers throughout the country as well.”

Morgan, a Scotland U21 star, said: “Obviously everyone has bought into the manager’s ideas and thoughts, what he wants from us. And the manager himself, everyone knows obviously, his stock is rising and rightly so – he’s been terrific for the club.

“The turnaround has been amazing and I think the team ethic has really been what has pushed us over the line this year.”

The other awards on the night were: League 2 Player of the Year: Darren Smith of Stirling Albion. League 1 PoY: Lawrence Shankland of Ayr United and championship winner Lewis Morgan.

Young Player of the Year went to Celtic’s Kieran Tierney, who became the first player to win the Young Player of the Year award three years in a row, while the player of the year was Celtic captain Scott Brown.

No Celtic players were available to collect their awards in person with the squad having flown to Tenerife immediately after the 5-0 win over Rangers which clinched seven titles in a row.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.