Main Menu

Health brief for Sarwar

Leonard unveils his first Labour shadow cabinet

Richard Leonard

Richard Leonard after securing the leadership vote (photo by Terry Murden)

Scottish Labour leader Richard Leonard has appointed his defeated rival Anas Sarwar as health and sport spokesman in his first shadow cabinet.

Lesley Laird, the Shadow Scottish Secretary, is confirmed as interim deputy leader following Alex Rowley’s resignation at the weekend.

There is no place for former leader Kezia Dugdale who was recently reprimanded for defying party orders not to take part in an ITV reality show.

James Kelly will shadow Derek Mackay as finance and constitution spokesman while Jackie Baillie retains the economy brief and Iain Gray will continue to speak on education.

Mr Leonard said he will encourage his new team to play a big role not just in the chamber and committee rooms of Holyrood but across the country, taking Labour’s message directly to the people of Scotland.

“This is a new team and a new start for Scottish Labour,” he said in a statement. “After seven years of Tory austerity and a decade of SNP mediocrity people are ready for the real and radical change the Labour party offers.

“This team is a blend of energy, talent and experience, ready to hold this government to account put forward the positive difference a Scottish Labour government would make.”

The full Labour team:

Leader of the Scottish Labour Party – Richard Leonard

Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland and Interim Deputy Leader – Lesley Laird

Parliamentary Business Manager and Women and Equality spokesperson – Rhoda Grant

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Constitution – James Kelly

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for the Economy, Jobs and Fair Work – Jackie Baillie

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Brexit, Campaigns and Party Engagement – Neil Findlay 

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Education, Skills and Science – Iain Gray

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport – Anas Sarwar

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform – Claudia Beamish

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for the Eradication of Poverty and Inequality – Elaine Smith

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Communities, Social Security and Equalities – Monica Lennon

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Justice – Daniel Johnson

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Tourism and External Affairs – Claire Baker

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Rural Economy and Connectivity – Colin Smyth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.