New Year Honours List

Arise Sir Ringo…while Darcey becomes a Dame

Susan Rice

Susan Rice: among those honoured by the Queen (photo by Terry Murden)

Former Beatle Ringo Starr and the Strictly Come Dancing judge Darcey Bussell are among those headlining the New Year Honours List.

Ringo, one of the two surviving members of the Fab Four, becomes Sir Richard Starkey (his real name), while fellow musician Barry Gibb, the soul survivor of the Bee Gees, is also knighted.  Ms Bussell, who has a string of roles in the world of dance, is made a Dame.

Former Liberal Democrat leader and deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg is knighted as is deputy speaker of the Commons Lindsay Hoyle whose honour is tinged with sadness following the death of his daughter.

In Scotland, the former banker Lady Susan Rice becomes a Dame for services to business, the arts and charity, while there is a knighthood for political voting expert Professor John Curtice of Strathclyde University and for Professor Iain Richard Torrance, Pro-Chancellor, University of Aberdeen.

Jo Swinson, the deputy leader of the Liberal Democrats and MP for East Dunbartonshire, is appointed a CBE.

David Duke (right), founder and chief executive, Street Soccer Scotland which helps the homeless and disadvantaged is made an MBE. Cyclist Mark Beaumont receives the British Empire Medal.

Notable honours distributed to those in business, politics, civil service, sport and the arts:


Professor David Bell, the economics academic; Lorne Crerar, lawyer; Denise Horsfall, work services director’ Department for Work and Pensions; Shaun Kingsbury, the CEO of the Green Investment Bank; James Martin, former Scottish Public Services Ombudsman; Professor Maureen McAra, criminologist; Professor Andrew Morris, former chief scientist; Andrew Ogilvie Robertson, chairman, LAR Housing Trust; Robert Swannell, former chairman of Marks & Spencer; Ben Thomson, former chairman, board of trustees, National Galleries of Scotland.


Fiona Janet Bradley, director of the Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh; Prof Derek Bell, President, the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh; Caroline Docherty, deputy keeper of the Signet; Robert Thomas Edwards, chairman, Scotframe Timber Engineering; Elizabeth Margaret (Elma) Murray, chief executive, North Ayrshire Council; Dr Lesley Sawers, Equality and Human Rights Commissioner for Scotland; Alison Norma, Sellar, chief executive, Activpayroll; Teresa Tennant, co-founder, Jupiter Ecology Fund; Joyce Helen White, chief executive, West Dunbartonshire Council.


John Brodie, chief executive, Scottish Midland Co-operative Society; Angus James McIntosh, managing director, Lecht Ski Centre; Ian McLauchlan, former Scotland rugby captain; Dr James Peter Robson, doctor, Scotland rugby team and head of medical services; Summera Naheed Shaheen, owner, The Diamond Studio.

Celebrities honoured include the broadcaster Lord Melvyn Bragg and the author and historian Lady Antonia Fraser who become Members of the Order of the Companions of Honour; actors Hugh Laurie and Julia McKenzie (both CBE), actor James Cosmo (MBE) and the singer Marc Almond (OBE).

Scottish Secretary David Mundell said: “I am pleased to see the New Year Honours 2018 recognise some of Scotland’s most deserving volunteers, community leaders and public figures. 

“From the achievements of prominent sporting greats such as Mark Beaumont to the inspirational local heroes of our communities whose tireless dedication, commitment and compassion benefit so many across the length and breadth of Scotland, it is right that we mark their dedication and commitment.  

“I congratulate each and every recipient on their award –  they truly deserve their recognition today and our thanks and praise for their contribution.”

In total 1,123 people have received an award:

  • 981 candidates have been selected at BEM, MBE and OBE level: 318 at BEM, 452 at MBE and 211 at OBE;
  • 70% of the recipients are people who have undertaken outstanding work in their communities either in a voluntary or paid capacity;
  • 551 women are recognised in the List, representing 49% of the total;
  • 9.2% of the successful candidates come from a BAME background;
  • 5% of the successful candidates consider themselves to have a disability (under the Equality Act 2010

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.