100 per cent record intact

Warriors outpace Cheetahs in historic clash

Rob Harley

Rob Harley went over for the decisive score in Glasgow Warriors’ win over the Cheetahs in South Africa (pic: SNS Group)

Cheetahs 26, Glasgow Warriors 29
Guinness PRO14
Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein

Glasgow Warriors displayed all their battling qualities as they stretched their 100% start to the Guinness PRO14 campaign with a stirring victory.

Dave Rennie’s side left it late to clinch victory in the historic fixture, Rob Harley touching down after Finn Russell’s delightful chip over the top four minutes from time.

It was a sixth straight win for Glasgow, who also notched a bonus point after a double from Callum Gibbins and a Henry Pyrgos try.

The visitors had gone in at the interval 17-10 down as the Cheetahs looked set to record a fourth successive victory but the men from Scotstoun had other ideas and rallied impressively at the Free State Stadium to keep their perfect start intact.

After the break, Ruaridh Jackson made an interception on his own 22 and raced to within 10 metres of the Cheetahs’ try line before Russell’s pick-up released Gibbins to level things at 17-17.

The South Africans went ahead again when Stapelberg sent over a penalty but Glasgow got their noses back in front at 24-23 when Russell converted a Pyrgos try.

The pendulum swung in the hosts’ favour when Stapelberg slotted another penalty four minutes from time before flanker Harley, a second-half substitute, brilliantly anticipated Russell’s chip to claim the key score.

Cheetahs: 15 Sergeal Petersen, 14 Rosko Specman, 13 Francois Venter (captain), 12 William Small-Smith, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Oupa Mohoje, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Charles Marais

Substitutes: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Johan Coetzee, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Junior Pokomela, 21 Shaun Venter, 22 Nico Lee, 23 Luther Obi

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Ruaridh Jackson, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Nick Grigg, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Leonardo Sarto, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Adam Ashe, 7 Callum Gibbins, 6 Ryan Wilson (captain), 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Jamie Bhatti

Substitutes: 16 George Turner, 17 Alex Allan, 18 D’Arcy Rae, 19 Brian Alainu’uese, 20 Rob Harley, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Peter Horne, 23 Niko Matawalu



Tries: Petersen, Specman; Conversions: Stapelberg (2); Penalties: Stapelberg (4).

Glasgow Warriors

Tries: Harley, Pyrgos, Gibbins (2); Conversions: Russell (3); Penalty: Russell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.