Main Menu

Autumn internationals

Seven newcomers in Scotland squad

Anton Bresler

Anton Bresler: qualifies through residency (photo: SNS Group)

Gregor Townsend has taken advantage of residency rules to add two overseas-born players in his 41-man training squad ahead of the autumn internationals.

Namibian lock Anton Bresler and the New Zealand midfielder Phil Burleigh have qualified for Scotland thanks to the three-year residency rule that will extend to five from next year.

Townsend has also included two age-grade internationalists from last season’s Scotland Under-20s squad. Young flanker Matt Fagerson, who made three starts for Glasgow last season, is hoping to follow elder brother Zander into the team.

full-back Darcy Graham is the latest recruit from Hawick which produced Stuart Hogg.

Three other uncapped players include Glasgow lock Scott Cummings, Edinburgh flanker Jamie Ritchie, a replacement for the injured Rob Harley, and Jamie Bhatti.

Full-back Hogg is among six injured players attending a two-day summer camp in St Andrew this weekend, along with Fraser Brown, Jonny Gray, Rob Harley, Allan Dell and David Denton.

Toulouse lock Richie Gray has been excused in order to aid his recovery from a back problem with his club.

Speaking ahead the autumn internationals at home to Samoa, New Zealand and Australia, Townsend said: “This camp is an opportunity to bring the players together who are foremost in our thoughts for the autumn Tests.

“The timing of our get-together, halfway between our last game and when we will meet up again at the end of October, gives us the ideal opportunity to work with players before they begin competitive rugby with their clubs.

“At the moment we have an excellent pool of players from which to choose and there are also a number of players that haven’t been invited to St Andrews that we will be tracking closely to see if they can play their way into our squad.”

Training Squad:

Backs: Phil Burleigh (Edinburgh), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors) Peter Horne, Rory Hughes, Huw Jones, Lee Jones (all Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Ali Price, Henry Pyrgos, Finn Russell, Tommy Seymour (all Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Greig Tonks (London Irish), Tim Visser (Harlequins)

Forwards: John Barclay (Scarlets), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Magnus Bradbury, Anton Bresler (both Edinburgh Rugby), Scott Cummings, Matt Fagerson, Zander Fagerson (all Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford, Grant Gilchrist, John Hardie, Stuart McInally, Willem Nel (all Edinburgh), Gordon Reid (London Irish), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis, Hamish Watson (both Edinburgh), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)

Injured players invited: Fraser Brown, Jonny Gray, Rob Harley, Stuart Hogg (all Glasgow Warriors), Allan Dell (Edinburgh), David Denton (Worcester Warriors)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.