Main Menu

Tour team named

Three new faces in Townsend’s first squad

Townsend: first squad

There are three uncapped players in new Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend’s first squad for this summer’s tour.

The Glasgow-based centre Nick Grigg and tight-head prop D’Arcy Rae, plus Edinburgh hooker George Turner, are the newcomers.

Edinburgh prop Willem Nel and Glasgow fly-half/centre Peter Horne return after missing the Six Nations.

There are also recalls for Lee Jones, Ruaridh Jackson and Sam Hidalgo-Clyne. The squad is captained by ill be captained by John Barclay.

The 34-man party will face a Test match against Italy in Singapore (10 June), followed by Australia in Sydney (17 June) and Fiji in Suva (24 June).

Scotland squad:


Back three: Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby), Ruaridh Jackson (Harlequins), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Tim Visser (Harlequins); Centres: Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Gloucester), Duncan Taylor (Saracens); Fly-halves: Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors), Peter Horne (Glasgow Warriors); Scrum-halves: Ali Price, Henry Pyrgos (both Glasgow Warriors), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh)


Props: Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Dell, (Edinburgh Rugby), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), D’Arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors), Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors); Hookers: Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), George Turner (Edinburgh Rugby); Locks: Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Toulouse), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby); Back row: John Barclay (Scarlets – captain), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby), John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.