Main Menu

Make-or-break for Strachan

Six Celtic players in Scotland squad

gordon strachanGordon Strachan has announced his squad for Scotland’s make-or-break World Cup Qualifier against England, with the former Celtic boss naming six Parkhead players in the 29-man pool.

Aberdeen, Celtic’s opponents in this Saturday’s Scottish Cup Final, are represented by centre-half Mark Reynolds and midfielder Kenny McLean.

Bournemouth winger Ryan Fraser will be hoping to make his debut having been denied a first cap due to injury against Canada and Slovenia, while winger Jamie Murphy has been recalled to the squad after Brighton and Hove Albion’s promotion to the English Premier League.

Scotland, who welcome Gareth Southgate’s side to Hampden Park on Saturday, 10 June, will aim to continue the good form which earned them a deserved victory in their last match against Slovenia and breathed new life into the qualifying campaign.

Kick-off for the Group F is 5pm.

Scotland squad:


Craig Gordon (Celtic)
Jack Hamilton (Heart of Midlothian)
David Marshall (Hull City)
Allan McGregor (Hull City)


Ikechi Anya (Derby County)
Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town)
Stephen Kingsley (Swansea City)
Russell Martin (Norwich City)
Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers)
Mark Reynolds (Aberdeen)
Andrew Robertson (Hull City)
Kieran Tierney (Celtic)


Stuart Armstrong (Celtic)
Barry Bannan (Sheffield Wednesday)
Scott Brown (Celtic)
Tom Cairney (Fulham)
Darren Fletcher (West Bromwich Albion)
Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth)
James Forrest (Celtic)
James McArthur (Crystal Palace)
John McGinn (Hibernian)
Kenny McLean (Aberdeen)
James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion)
Robert Snodgrass (West Ham United)


Steven Fletcher (Sheffield Wednesday)
Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)
Chris Martin (Derby County)
Jamie Murphy (Brighton and Hove Albion)
Steven Naismith (Norwich City)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.