Main Menu

Scottish Legal Awards

McCluskey recognised for lifetime career

Lord McCluskey
Lord McCluskey: recognition (photo by Terry Murden)

Lord McCluskey was last night recognised for a long career in the legal sector.

Accepting the lifetime achievement award at the Scottish Legal Awards he said it was “immensely flattering” and joked that some of his contemporaries would be “appalled” if they were not turning in their graves.

“Why me? I could only think of 18 reasons, and the first is in recognition of my modesty,” he said.

He added: “You do not get to the top without a great deal of luck.”

He was among 17 winning businesses and individuals in the annual competition which rewards the best of Scottish legal practice across the country. 

Firm of the year was Clyde & Co which has spent the year embedding its Scottish operations after merging with Simpson & Marwick. 

Chairman of the judging panel, Shonaig Macpherson, said: “Alongside my 11 colleagues on the judging panel, we draw together a wide range of expertise which allows us to make informed and independent decisions on all our entries.  This year we received a large increase in the number of entries which allowed us to review a great volume of work in real depth. 

“With two honorary awards for Lifetime Achievement and Managing Partner of the Year, I think our awards offer a fantastic insight into the highest performing individuals and businesses in Scottish law.  Congratulations to all our finalists and winners this year and I hope to see them make the most out of their major wins in the coming year.” 

Aamer Anwar
Aamer Anwar: Lawyer of the Year (photo by Terry Murden)
Hardeep Singh Kohli, co-presenter with KD Media staff Gayle Mackail and Pippa Barker (photo by Terry Murden)
Jim Graham and wife Chris of Maloco Associates: commended at awards (photo by Terry Murden)
Guests gathered at the awards
Guests gathered at the awards (photo by Terry Murden)
Hardeep Singh Kohli
Hardeep Singh Kohli (photo by Terry Murden)
Catriona Stewart
Catriona Shearer, co-host: photo by Terry Murden)


Community Contribution Award sponsored by Frasia Wright Associates


Bond Dickinson

Faculty of Advocate

Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents

Joint Winners: Faculty of Advocates and Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents


Excellence in Client Care sponsored by Barr Printers


McEwan Fraser Legal

Blackadders LLP

Harper Macleod

Maloco + Associates

Winner:  Blackadders LLP


In House Legal Team of the Year             


Aberdeenshire Council


Sainsbury’s Bank plc

Scottish Social Services Council

Winner:  CYBG


Family Law Team of the Year sponsored by Brewin Dolphin


Family Law Matters Scotland LLP

Livingstone Brown

Macleod & MacCallum

Morton Fraser Family Law Team


Winner: Macleod & MacCallum


Pro Bono Award sponsored by LawWorks Scotland        


Clan Childlaw

DLA Piper (Scotland) LLP

Glasgow Caledonian University Law Clinic

Winner:  Clan Childlaw



Employer of the Year    


McEwan Fraser Legal


Winner: McEwan Fraser Legal


Support Team of the Year sponsored by Wolffe


Anderson Strathern


Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents

Moore Legal Technology

Millar & Bryce

Winner: Innes & Mackay Solicitors & Estate Agents



Innovation in Practice


Altis Legal

Harper Macleod LLP

Weightmans Scotland LLP

Brodies LLP

DLA Piper (Scotland) LLP


Winner:  DWF Scottish Counter Fraud Team


Residential Property Team of the Year 


Maloco + Associates

McEwan Fraser Legal

McQueen Legal

Simpson & Marwick

Winner:  McEwan Fraser Legal

Highly Commended:  Maloco + Associates


Litigation Team of Year


Allan McDougall Solicitors

Clyde & Co

Harper Macleod LLP

Maclay Murray & Spens LLP

Winner:  Harper Macleod LLP

Highly Commended: Clyde & Co



Paralegal of the Year


Bilaal Shabbir – MBS Solicitors

Beth Taylor – Watermans

Winner:  Beth Taylor – Watermans


Rising Star of the Year


Dominic Scullion, Anderson Strathern

Andrew Wallace, Blackadders LLP

Helen Callaghan, DWF

Ryan Russell, Muir Myles Laverty Solicitors

Martin Campbell, Scottish Social Services Council

Caroline Pringle, Murray Beith Murray


Winner: Dominic Scullion, Anderson Strathern

Highly Commended, Andrew Wallace, Blackadders LLP


Lawyer of the Year sponsored by Law Society of Scotland


Simon Allison – Blackadders LLP

Aamer Anwar – Aamer Anwar & Co

Stuart Munro – Livingstone Brown

Winner: Aamer Anwar, Aamer Anwar & Co


Judges Award of Merit

Harper Macleod for their 10 year work with the National Autistic Society of Scotland


Managing Partner of the Year

Craig Nicol and Scott Milne, Joint Managing Partners for Thorntons.


Firm of the Year


DLA Piper (Scotland) LLP

Gillespie Macandrew LLP

Harper Macleod LLP



Clyde & Co

Winner:  Clyde & Co

Highly Commended: Thorntons



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.