Main Menu

Umpire hit in eye

Angry shot sends GB into next round

Tennis- Davis Cup: Britain won their Davis Cup tie Ottawa in the most bizarre circumstances when Canada’s Denis Shapovalov was disqualified after angrily hitting the ball which struck French umpire Arnaud Gabas in the eye .

The frustrated swipe led to a default and cost the 17-year-old’s team the match and the tie.

Shapovalov had dropped his serve against Kyle Edmund with the score at 6-3 4-4 2-1. He later said he was “incredibly ashamed and embarrassed” by his reckless shot.

“Luckily he was OK but obviously it’s unacceptable behaviour from me,” said the Wimbledon junior champion.

“I just feel awful for letting my team down, for letting my country down, for acting in a way that I would never want to act.

“I can promise that’s the last time I will do anything like that. I’m going to learn from this and try to move past it.”

Edmund said: “It was a strange way to finish. I’ve never been part of something like that. I improved a lot from the last match.

“On paper I had an advantage but you don’t play on paper, you play on a hard court. Anything can happen in the Davis Cup so I’m very pleased.”

BBC commentator and former Davis Cup captain John Lloyd said: “When the ball gets hit at that pace, he [the umpire] obviously wouldn’t have seen it coming and there could’ve been serious damage to the retina. It could’ve been terrible.”

Current GB captain Leon Smith said: “I feel for the young lad. He’s a great talent and he has learned a harsh lesson.

“But Kyle, from what we saw on Friday to today, was fantastic. How he prepared, how he took command, his unbelievable serving and he kept pressure on the turns. It was a great performance.”

See what happened here

Share The News Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someoneShare on LinkedIn





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

*