Scottish Beer Awards

Brewery finalists in contention for prizes

Screenshot 2016-06-10 12.21.10The finalists in the first annual Scottish Beer Awards have been announced with 31 breweries and 73 beers progressing in the competition.

The awards cover both taste and business performance and were judged last week by a highly experienced judging panel consisting of some of Scotland’s foremost brewing and beer experts.

Of the finalists, Ross-Shire based Black Isle Brewing Co has eight beers on the list – the highest in the competition.  Brewdog, Orkney Brewing and Williams Bros are next with five beers each.

Five breweries will also fight it out for the top prize – Scottish Brewery of the Year.  Black Isle Brewing Co, Brewdog, Edinburgh Beer Factory, Fallen and Tempest Brewing Co have been selected following the strict judging process.

Nineteen judges tasted 154 Scottish beers which were marked according to a range of tasting standards, adjudicated by the international sensory management consultancy, FlavorActiV.  Just under half of all the entered beers have been selected in the taste categories as finalists.

In addition 55 written entries covering breweries’ business performance were debated in a session which was chaired by former S&N Director, Hilary Jones.

She said: “The judging day was a fantastic experience and I was incredibly impressed by the high standard of written entries.  The tasting session was illuminating and with eigh beer types and 154 beers, we were really put through our paces.  The overwhelming consensus from the panel is that the Scottish brewing sector is in terrific health and producing some outstanding beers.”

Finalists are now being sent a digital marketing package to enable personalised branding of winning beers to take place.

Gold medal winners will be announced at a celebration dinner and event on Thursday 29 September taking place at the Edinburgh Corn Exchange with presentations also taking place for Silver Medal and Bronze Medal positions.  Tickets cost £120.00 +VAT per person or £950.00+VAT for a table of eight. For full details visit the website



Best Lager or Pilsner

Bellfield Bohemian Pilsner
Black Isle Brewing Co Blonde
Brewdog King Pin
Drygate Brewery Bear Face
Edinburgh Beer Factory Paolozzi
Fallen Brewing Odyssey
Harviestoun Schiehallion
six°north Pils
Williams Bros Caesar Augustus
WooHa Lager

Best Amber or Dark Ale

Barney’s Beer Bastard Amber
Belhaven St Andrews Amber
Black Isle Brewing Co Red Kite
Born in the Borders Dark Horse
Brewdog 5am saint
Fallen Brewing  Dragonfly
Harviestoun Broken Dial
Loch Lomond Brewing Kessog
Orkney Brewery Dark Island
St. Andrews Brewing Company Neuk Ale
Williams Bros Pavlov’s Dog

 Best Pale Ale

Black Isle Brewing Co Goldeneye
Born in the Borders Foxy Blonde
Brewdog Dead Pony Club
Caledonian Brewery Coast to Coast
Harviestoun The Ridge
Orkney Brewery Corncrake
Speyside Bow Fiddle Blonde
St. Andrews Brewing Company Crail Ale
Tempest Brewing Co The Pale Armadillo
Williams Bros Birds & Bee’s

 Best IPA

Barney’s Beer Volcano IPA
Belhaven Twisted Thistle IPA
Black Isle Brewing Co Gold Finch
Brewdog Punk IPA
Dead End Brew Machine Death one
Drygate Brewery Gladeye IPA
Fallen Brewing Platform C
Keith Brewing Pale Keith
Tempest Brewing Co Brave New World
Up Front Brewing Ishmael
Williams Bros Joker IPA

Best British Style Ale

Black Wolf William Wallace
Black Isle Brewing Co Scotch Ale
Colonsay Brewery 80 Shilling
Fallen Brewing  Local Motive
Harviestoun 80 Shilling
Kentwood Brewing Wee Heavy
Orkney Brewery Raven Ale
St. Andrews Brewing Company 80 Bob
Tempest Brewing Co Old Parochial
Windswept Brewing Co APA

Best Porter or Stout

Belhaven Scottish Oat Stout
Black Isle Brewing Co Porter
Black Isle Brewing Co Hibernator Oatmeal
Drygate Brewery Orinoco
Eden Mill Parritch Broo
Loch Lomond Brewing Silkie Stout
Orkney Brewery Dragonhead
Tempest Brewing Co Red Eye Flight
Up Front Brewing Ishmael
Windswept Brewing Co Bear

Best Speciality Beer

Black Isle Brewing Co Gold Finch
Brewdog Black Eyed King IMP
Dead End Brew Machine Death one
Orkney Brewery Drk Isld Rsrv
six°north Honey Be Good
Tempest Brewing Co Mexicake
Tempest Brewing Co Marmalade on Rye
Top Out Brewery Schmankerl
WEST Brewery Opus 268
Williams Bros Fraoch Ale

Innovation of the Year sponsored by Boxshop 

Beehive Brae, Honey Beer
Bellfield Brewery, Gluten Free Beer
Brewdog, DIY Dog
Speyside Craft Brewery, Beery Bin
WEST Brewery, West Beer App

Beer Destination of the Year

WEST Brewery, Glasgow Green
Tennents, Wellpark Brewery, Glasgow
6 Degrees North, Glasgow
Orkney Brewery, Stromness, Orkney
Eden Mill, St Andrews
Drygate, Glasgow
Born in the Borders, Jedburgh, Scottish Borders
Brewdog, DogTap, Ellon, Aberdeenshire
Barneys Beer, Summerhall , Edinburgh

Product Development Team of the Year

Caledonian Brewery
Dead End Brew Machine
Drygate Brewing Company
Fallen Brewery
Isle of Skye Brewery
Tempest Brewery
WEST Brewery

Exporter of the Year

Belhaven Brewery
Eden Mill
Keith Brewing

Excellence in Marketing

Aldi Scottish Beer Festival
Eden Mill
Edinburgh Beer Factory
Keith Brewing

Growth Business of the Year sponsored by Maclay Murray & Spens

Tempest Brewing Co
Keith Brewing
Six Degrees North

Master Brewer of the Year

Andrew Barnett, Barneys Beer
Tony Kotronis, Keith Brewery
Ari Rovati, Six Degrees North
Ian Smith, Broughton Ales

Scottish Brewery of the Year

Black Isle Brewing Co
Edinburgh Beer Factory
Tempest Brewing Co

Screenshot 2016-06-10 12.18.38

The Judging Panel

Alex Speers, Professor, Heriot Watt University
Dr Alan Barclay, Past President, Institute of Brewing and Distilling
Andrew Ley, Partner, HBJ Gateley
Andrew Wolffe, Director, Wolffe Design
Bill Simpson, Executive Director, Cara Technology
Christopher Miller, Craft Beer Clan Scotland
Colin Johnston, Brewing Consultant, Maru Projects
Craig Brown, Director Ross & Brown
Dave Stewart, MD, DM Stewart Ltd
Dawn Maskell, Assistant Professor, Heriot Watt University
Sir Geoff Palmer MBE,Professor, Heriot Watt University
Ian Herok, Director, Still Brewing Company
Pete Sherry, Owner, The BeerHive
Roger Protz, Editor of the Good Beer Guide
Ruth Evans, CEO, BFBI
Sean Murphy, Food & Drink Journalist
Tony McGrath, formerly S&N and Saltire Inns
Chair of the judging panel (non-voting) – Hilary Jones, former Director of S&N and adviser to WEST
Judge moderator: Evelyne Canterranne, Global Sensory Manager, FlavorActiV Ltd

This article is published under the terms required by Daily Business here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.