New Year Honours

Knighthood for McCoy, OBE for BlackCircles founder

Mike WelchHorse racing champion Tony McCoy and the online tyres retailer Mike Welch are among those featuring in the New Year Honours list.

Knighthoods are awarded to the National Hunt jockey Mr McCoy and to Paul Grice, clerk and chief executive at the Scottish Parliament, while former Scotland footballer Denis Law and hotelier Maurice Taylor are made CBEs.

Mr Welch (pictured), who founded in the Borders, is among those appointed an OBE.

Colin Cowdery, founder of financial services group Resolution, is also knighted for services to children and social mobility. Former TV journalist Martyn Lewis receives a knighthood for his charity work.

Dr Michael Jacobs, who treated nurses Pauline Cafferkey, Will Pooley and Anna Cross at the Royal Free Hospital in London, is also among those given a knighthood.

Jacqueline Gold, chief executive of retail chain Ann Summers, is appointed a CBE, along with Samir Desai, one of the co-founders, and the current chief executive of fintech firm Funding Circle, and Graham Beale, chief executive of Nationwide Building Society.

Tennis broadcaster Sue Barker, already an MBE, is appointed an OBE. Broadcaster Jacqui Oatley, who became the first female commentator on Match Of The Day, is made an MBE.

EasyJet boss Carolyn McCall, chief executive of Easyjet, has been made a Dame for her work in the aviation sector. The same honour is bestowed on Natalie Massenet, the founder of upmarket online retailer Net-a-Porter, and the actor Barbara Windsor.

Fellow actor James Nesbitt is appointed an OBE for services to the profession and for his years of work with families affected by the Troubles in his native Northern Ireland. Idris Elba, the star of the BBC series Luther receives the same honour, as does the singer with Blur, Damon Albarn.

Double Tour de France winner Chris Froome and snooker player Ronnie O’Sullivan, are appointed OBEs.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) include:

  • Denis Law. For services to football and charity
  • Joanna Wardlaw. For services to neuroimaging and clinical science
  • Maurice Taylor. Hotelier, for services to business and to charity
  • Steven Chapman. For services to higher education
  • Cait MacPhee. For services to women in physics
  • Professor David Michael Lane, professor of autonomous systems engineering, Heriot Watt University and founding director, Edinburgh Centre for Robotics. For services to Engineering.
  • Graham Beale, chief executive of Nationwide Building Society
  • Falklands veteran Simon Weston. For charity work

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) include:

  • John Gillies. For services to general practice
  • Willie Donachie. For services to animal and veterinary biosciences
  • Michael Welch. For services to business and voluntary service to adoption and fostering
  • Irene McAra-McWilliam. For services to art and design
  • Georgette Fulton. For services to St Andrews first aid and the community in New Cumnock, Ayrshire

Among those appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) are:

  • Laura Young. For services to chronically ill children in Scotland
  • Chris McCoy. For services to social equality
  • Vivian French. For services to literature, literacy, illustration and the arts
  • James Banks. For services to bagpiping and voluntary service in Scotland
  • James Callander. For voluntary service to athletics
  • The Honourable Heather Galbraith. For services to equestrianism in Ayrshire
  • Yvonne Anderson. For services to the Special Olympics
  • Janice Eaglesham and Ian Mirfin. For services to disability sport
  • David Acheson. For services to the families of police officers and to charity
  • Maurice Dodd. For voluntary service to the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service in the north east of Scotland
  • Ann McIlveen. For services to the community in Glasgow
  • Mo Perera. For services to disabled children in Sri Lanka
  • Iain John Barrowman, For services to manufacturing
  • David Stewart, the master blender for William Grant and Sons Distillers.

Among those becoming a Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM) are:

  • Marny Mowatt. For services to the Orkney Country Show
  • Elizabeth Kilpatrick. For voluntary service to first aid and the community in Kilwinning, Ayrshire
  • William Crowe. For services to the community and children’s charities in Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
  • David Buchanan. Secretary, Oban Saints Amateur Football Club, for services to Football
  • Isobel Kirkwood. Volunteer, Erskine Homes, for services to veterans in Scotland

The honours system:

The Honours List is announced twice a year and includes knights and dames, appointments to the Order of the British Empire and gallantry awards.

The Queen is asked to approve a list of nominees presented to her by government ministers.

Anyone can nominate someone else for an honour and they will be assessed by a panel of experts. While individuals often receive added awards, protocol states that a decent interval must pass between awards. This is thought to be the reason why tennis player Andy Murray, who received an OBE in 2013, was not honoured this year.

The general hierarchy is:

MBEs are for people who have made a major contribution to their local community

OBEs are for those whose achievements are recognised nationally

CBEs and knighthoods or damehoods are for those whose performance has an international impact.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.