Old enemy in battle for 2018

Scotland draw England in World Cup qualifiers

Scotland have been drawn in the same group as England for the qualifying rounds for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Slovakia, Slovenia, Lithuania, and Malta make up group F that both Scotland manager Gordon Strachan and his England counterpart Roy Hodgson will be pleased with as it avoids all the major nations.

World Cup Qualifying Groups

Group A: Netherlands, France, Sweden, Bulgaria, Belarus, Luxembourg
Group B: Portugal, Switzerland, Hungary, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Andorra
Group C: Germany, Czeck Republic, NORTHERN IRELAND, Norway, Azerbaijan, San Marino
Group D: WALES, Austria, Serbia, REP OF IRELAND, Moldova, Georgia
Group E: Romania, Denmark, Poland, Montenegro, Armenia, Kazakhstan
Group F: ENGLAND, Slovakia, SCOTLAND, Slovenia, Lithuania, Malta
Group G: Spain, Italy, Albania, Israel, FYR Macedonia, Liechtenstein
Group H: Belgium, Bosnia & Herz, Greece, Estonia, Cyprus
Group I: Croatia, Iceland, Ukraine, Turkey, Finland

Qualifying games will be played from September 2016 to October 2017.

The nine group winners will progress to the finals, while the eight best runners-up will take part in play-offs in November 2017.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.