Main Menu

Homes for Scotland Awards

Mather calls for clarity on Help to Buy

Homes winnersThe Scottish Government has been urged to “evolve” its Help to Buy shared equity scheme in order to maintain the positive progress that has been made in supporting buyers, stimulating the building of new homes and creating jobs.

Jim Mather, chairman of trade body Homes for Scotland, said it was important for buyers and builders to know what measures will be in place with the scheme ends next March.

His comments were made to 900 industry figures at the inaugural Homes for Scotland annual lunch and awards ceremony and followed publication of figures this week showing that the scheme has resulted in 5,000 sales worth £1 billion.

Housing Minister Margaret Burgess told the same gathering that the Scottish Government has invested hundreds of millions of pounds to pursue a range of initiatives to support private sector activity.

“Whilst the delivery of affordable housing remains our top priority, the Scottish Government is committed to see an increase in supply across all tenures, delivering a strong sustainable economy and supporting a fairer society,” she said.

The 2015 Awards showcased a commitment to not only raise standards across the industry but also overcome the barriers that still impede the building of much needed homes across all tenures.

Springfield Properties picked up the top Home Builder of the Year award for its use of bold and innovative approaches to housing delivery, customer care and employee engagement, whilst Bill Robertson of Robertson Homes was presented with a Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to home building across 50 years.

A special award was also granted to former Homes for Scotland Director of Planning Allan Lundmark in recognition of the valued role he has played not only as a leading figure within the trade body’s senior management team, but also as a trusted industry advisor.

Mike Galloway, director of city development, Dundee City Council and chair of the judging panel, said: “Ensuring Scotland has enough homes of all tenures in the right locations to meet its diverse needs is key to tackling the country’s housing challenge and these longstanding awards show that we have an industry that has an ongoing commitment to raising standards by recognising and promoting best practice.

“This year’s judging panel was looking for demonstrations of excellence across a whole range of areas which are key to the future success of not only the home building sector itself but also the local communities they serve.

“Given the thousands of homes Scotland desperately needs, I hope that the awards will prove to be a further encouragement to all builders of what can be achieved in what are still challenging circumstances.”

The full list of winners is:

Best Employer (sponsored by Archial Norr)

winner:  Mactaggart & Mickel Homes

Employee of the Year  (sponsored by Clancy Docwra)

winner:  Heather Henderson – Springfield Properties

 Lifetime Achievement  (sponsored by Ground Developments)

Bill Robertson CBE

Best Customer Service Initiative (sponsored by Celotex)

winner:  Springfield Properties

commended:  Miller Homes

 Best Partnership in Affordable Housing Delivery (sponsored by Forster Roofing)

winner:  Rettie & Co, Cruden Group, Hillcrest Housing Association, City of Edinburgh Council and Scottish Futures Trust (Sailmaker Apartments, Leith)
commended:  Dunedin Canmore Housing Association and City of Edinburgh Council (Little Road Phase 1, Merchants Court, Edinburgh)

Best Home Design (sponsored by Registers of Scotland)

winner:  Robertson Homes (Azure Grand, Westercraigs, Inverness)

Best Development – large (26+ units) (sponsored by NHBC)

winner:  CALA Homes (East) (Albert Dock, The Shore, Edinburgh)

commended:  EMA Architects and Glencairn Properties (Bellevue Colonies, Edinburgh)

commended:  McTaggart Construction and Robertson Homes (Urban Union) (Laurieston, Glasgow)

commended:  Places for People (Roman Fields, Twechar)

Best Development – medium (11-25 units) (sponsored by ZPG)

winner:  Eildon Housing Association (Dunwhinny Gardens, Peebles)

commended:  Springfield Properties (Corstorphine Mews, Edinburgh)

Best Development – small (up to ten units) (sponsored by Allied Surveyors Scotland)

winner:  Springfield Properties (Powderhall Gate, Edinburgh)

Best Supporting Company (sponsored by Brodies LLP)

winner:  First Mortgage

Special Award

Allan Lundmark

Homes for Scotland Home Builder of the Year 2015

Springfield Properties

The judging panel comprised:

Mike Galloway (Chair) – Director of City Development, Dundee City Council
Kareen Davidson – Former Sales & Marketing Director, Bett Homes
Linda Docherty – Chair, CML Scotland
Phil Ford, Strategic Partnerships Director (Scotland), CITB
Mike Hartley – Sales Director, Media Scotland
Malcolm MacLeod – Director Scotland, NHBC
Lynne Sullivan OBE – Chair, The Sullivan Report / Partner, sustainableBYdesign
Steven Tolson – Chair, RICS Scotland
Stephen Tucker – Immediate Past Convenor, RTPI Scotland
Mark Turley – Consultant and Construction Policy Advisor to the Scottish Government

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.