Main Menu

Scottish Press Awards

Daily Record’s The Vow receives top prize

scottish press awardsThe Daily Record was named newspaper of the year at the 36th Scottish Press Awards, also collecting the scoop of the year and front page of the year prizes.

Its cover story, headlined The Vow, was one of the most talked about last year and played a central role in the referendum campaign. The judges said the headline, which appeared 48 hours before the vote, had “entered the British political lexicon”.

Murray Foote, editor, picked up scoop of the year for the same story which he brokered with the party leaders “while sitting in his kitchen wearing paint-spattered joggers and t-shirt”.

In a good night for the Record and Mail, David Clegg was named political journalist of the year and Keith Jackson sports news writer of the year. Marion Scott of sister title the Sunday Mail picked up the coveted journalist of the year and reporter of the year titles.

There were 23 prizes with the Sunday Herald editor Richard Walker receiving the chairman’s prize and Drew Cochrane of the Largs & Millport News the lifetime achievement award. The Scottish Daily Mail was the winner of four categories.

Other winners were:

Sports photographer: Stewart Attwood, Herald & Times

News photographer: Jeff Mitchell, Getty Images

Cartoonist: Brian Petrie, The Scottish Sun

Young journalist: Darren Hamilton, Evening Telegraph

Weekly newspaper: Fife Free Press

Arts/entertainment: Brian Beacom, Herald & Times

Interviewer: Patricia Kane, Scottish Mail on Sunday

Columnist: Chris Deerin, Scottish Daily Mail

Financial/Business: Erikka Askeland, Press & Journal

Feature writer: Emma Cowing, Scottish Daily Mail

Sports feature writer: Aidan Smith, The Scotsman

Innovation: Scotland Now

Journalism team: Scottish Daily Mail

Campaign: Scottish Daily Mail



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.