PM ready to act

Two cases of Omicron in UK as travel bans loom

Gatwick airport

Air travel faces more disruption

Boris Johnson has reintroduced compulsory wearing of face masks in shops and on public transport in England along with more testing and more travel bans after two people in the UK were found to be infected with the new Covid Omicron variant.

The Prime Minister has also announced that anyone coming into contact with someone infected with the latest strain of the virus will be required to self-isolate for 10 days regardless of their vaccination status.

Face masks are already required in shops and on public transport in Scotland.

Speaking at a Downing Street press conference, Mr Johnson said that PCR tests will also be mandatory for anyone travelling to the UK two days after their arrival. They will also be required to self-isolate until they have received a negative test result.

Four more countries – Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia and Angola – will be added to the no-fly list on Sunday. All flights from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Namibia were banned yesterday amid growing international panic about the ‘variant of concern’, which scientists believe is more transmissible and has an increased risk of reinfection. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.